Introduce the Quote

Essay Section: Supporting Evidence (Quotes)

Hi. My name is Regina Y. Favors. I am a college graduate of San Diego State University.  My major in college was English. I graduated with both a B.A. and M.A. in the major.  Now I teach English as a Second Language at Richland College, in Dallas, Texas. I started the position in January 2007.

I just told you 12 things about me. I introduced you to the following:

1) to my name,

2) to the fact that I am a college graduate,

3) to the college from which I graduated,

4) to my major in college,

5) to my B.A. degree,

6) to my M.A. degree,

7) to the fact that I teach,

8) to what I teach,

9) to where I teach,

10) to the city I live in,

11) to the state I live in, and

12) to when I started the teaching position.

Now you know some things about me.

This information is new to you. You have never met me. You did not know this information before I just told you. In other words, you have just been introduced to new information. You (as reader) and I are not friends and by reading these things about me, you have also just introduced yourself to this new information. This is a simplistic introduction to this comment, but it is satisfactory for the moment.

However, to add further to this comment, we will use two types of sources: 1) an excerpt from W.E.B. Du Bois’s work The Souls of Black Folk and 2) an excerpt from my graduate student paper entitled “Collaborative Perceptions: A ‘Work’ in Progress.” I have changed or added some wording within the sources for the purpose of illustrating the different methods of introducing a quote. I will use all or some portions of the following excerpt from Du Bois’s work within each discussion. This comment links multiple web pages. Click on the links below.

Here is the Du Bois quote:

After the Egyptian and Indian, the Greek and Roman, the Teuton and Mongolian, the Negro is a sort of seventh son, born with a veil, and gifted with second-sight in this American world,—a world which yields him no true self-consciousness, but only lets him see himself through the revelation of the other world.  It is a peculiar sensation, this double-consciousness, this sense of always looking at one’s self through the eyes of others, of measuring one’s soul by the tape of a world that looks on in amused contempt and pity. On ever feels his two-ness,—an American, a Negro; two souls, two thoughts, two unreconciled strivings; two warring ideals in one dark body, whose dogged strength alone keeps it from being torn asunder. (Du Bois )

Keep in mind that this comment is not definitive advice concerning the various ways of citing a parenthetical source. Refer to the standard manual that your professor requires you to use (i.e., APA, MLA, Chicago Style Manual, etc.) for more information on bibliographic and parenthetical citations.

This comment only represents an explanation of “common” problems and an explanation of what your professors typically mean when it comes to introducing quotes within your academic papers. This comment and the examples provided conform to the standards of MLA, in terms of basic principles.

Therefore, when you typically introduce a quote, and you are using MLA, keep in mind these four things as a method for determining how best to present the material accurately within your essays.

1. What’s Your Name?

2. What’s the Change?

3. This is my first time.

4. What’s Next?

Copyright 2011 Regina Y. Favors. All Rights Reserved.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

